Norwegian Waffles

Do you want to feel like it’s Saturday morning, every morning? If you said no, who the hell are you and what planet are you from? (Obviously not earth, and definitely not Gallifrey)

Norwegian Waffles

There’s a story behind these, but if you’re like 99% of the population, you won’t read it for more than 2 minutes. Scroll down to the recipe and make that shit.

OTHERWISE, READ ON!

This recipe is in honor of one of the best women in the world.

What do you call your grandmother? Nana, Mum, Nini, Gran, Abuela, Grammy, the one who gives me stuff my parents won’t, the list just goes on. I have nothing but fond memories of both my grandmothers. They’re beautiful, strong women in their own ways. My grandmother on my father’s side, Farmor, is easily the most sensible person I have ever known. Her actual name is Kari, but Farmor means “father’s mother” in Norwegian. People are continually baffled when I yell for her in the grocery store. “Why is that delirious girl yelling for a farmer?” You get used to it.

I don’t want to start a riot by saying either one of my grandma’s has better taste than the other, but Farmor is pretty spot on about… well about everything. From her hair to her shoes, her artwork to her kitchen, I can’t begin to tell you how much I admire her style. Everything around her seems so striking, but modest. Simple and minimalistic, that’s the Norwegian way, especially in terms of food. Farmor’s baking and breakfast dishes are to die for. However, I will admit, boiled potatoes and cod is a meal a little too bland for me.

When I told Farmor I would be making Norwegian waffles, I heard the excitement in her voice. The enthusiasm had nothing to do with me actually cooking them. This recipe is super easy. She was most excited because she had a heart shaped waffle iron that is traditionally used for this dish (Farmor is an avid and scary good bargain shopper, but that’s a story for another day).

Norwegian Waffles
Norwegian Waffles

You don’t have to use a heart shaped waffle iron to fall in love with this recipe (but it’s a nice added touch). It’s straightforward. My family loves to top these off with jam, cinnamon and sugar, or honey, but you can put on top whatever the hell tickles your fancy. I recommend blackberry jam; it’s too damn good.

Recipe:

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Ingredients:

  •  1 ¾ cup all purpose flour
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons white, granulated sugar
  • 3 tablespoons melted butter plus a bit extra for the waffle iron
  • 1 ½ cup whole milk*, room temperature
  • zest of one orange
  • 1 tablespoon fresh orange juice
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Instructions:

  1. Preheat waffle iron (seriously recommend a smaller, thinner iron for this recipe).
  2. In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, and salt (It sounds silly, but add them exactly in this order. Note as to why at the bottom). Whisk together; set aside
  3. Grab a medium bowl to beat both the eggs and sugar together in. The mix should be fluffy and airy before continuing.
  4. Now, add the butter and milk to the wet ingredients. Continue mixing for another 20-30 seconds.
  5. Zest the fresh, delicious smelling orange; then, squash it like it dumped you on Valentines Day… Get at least a tablespoon of juice. Add this and 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract to the wet ingredients.
  6. Only slightly mix the wet ingredients.Slowly pour into dry ingredients while mixing. Ensure the dry ingredients and wet ingredients are fully combined in a beautiful, orgasmic batter.
  7. Grease your waffle iron with a basting brush and some butter (you can use the spray, but why would you want to make me and the ozone cry?)
  8. Scoop about ½ cup of the batter into your waffle iron.
  9. Cook for about 4-5 minutes or until a light golden brown. When you take them off the iron, cover them with a paper towel to ensure they are soft.
  10. Serve them fresh with jam, honey, maple syrup, fresh fruit, or whatever you want.

Norwegian Waffles

*Notes: 

  • You can use 2% or skim milk, but I recommend the whole milk. I think it tastes better, and the texture of the waffles feels more like a pillow, as opposed to a piece of paper.
  • The reason I say to add the flour first is because you do not want the baking powder or salt being clumped together at the bottom of the bowl. It’s easier to whisk these ingredients in at the top of the flour mix, rather than the bottom! If you don’t do this, as I know from experience, you may bite into your delicious ass waffles and get a mouthful of baking powder or salt. Remember this whenever you bake!!!
Norwegian Waffles
Norwegian Waffles

I probably ate at least 5 whole waffles while making this recipe. The sacrifices I make for you are fearless….. 

One Comment Add yours

Comment

