What to Keep in Your Pantry : Baking

You find a badass recipe, possibly on this blog, to bake cookies. Super excited, you assume you already have everything ready to fuck shit up. You get half way through making the dough when you look at the next ingredient. Oh no. You don’t have baking soda or cinnamon. How are you supposed to create the best cookies the world has ever known? I guess you could run to the store…. Or you could have prepared beforehand!

collage-2016-05-01 (1)

This same exact occurrence has happened to me countless times because I just assumed I had the ingredients I needed. Most of the time, it was no big deal. I would be pissed, but the cookies could wait. However, if you need these cookies ASAP, or anything else you’re baking, you should prepare your pantry ahead. Make sure you have certain things stocked all the time. Write down these essentials when they run out! It’ll save you a lot of time and potentially someone else’s ears when you’re so pissed off you start screaming cuss words at the top of your lungs.

  • Flour : I recommend always stocking white, whole wheat, and white whole wheat flour in your pantry. I love using whole wheat flour, but you have to be careful not to overmix the batter when using it (I’ll explain later)
  • Sugar : There are three essential sugars; white, light brown, and dark brown. You can also keep powdered, and I love raw sugar. (Of course these aren’t all the types of sugar you can buy, but I’d limit myself to these)
  • Baking Soda and Baking Powder : Don’t leve these out if they are required in a recipe! Both cause the amazingness you are baking to rise.
  • Salt : I always wondered why salt would be used in baking. Why? Long story short, it strengthens flavor (in my opinion, so does lemon)
  • Cinnamon : Never ever forget this. You may not need it in every recipe, but I love adding cinnamon to baked goods. Cinnamon adds sweetness without adding sugar. Just, don’t eat it by the spoonful.
Originally posted by basicelectronics on tumblr.com
Originally posted by basicelectronics on tumblr.com
  • Nutmeg : Great spice to add in the fall, or most of the time I use it with cinnamon. Even add this to mac and cheese, but that’s a story for another day.
  • Honey : This is my sweetener of choice. Most of my baked goods use this instead of white sugar. It’s worth it to get the good stuff if using it atop of a dessert or in tea, but if you’re on a budget, get the store bought.
  • Maple Syrup : Oh my god, get the real stuff. If you don’t, what are you doing with your life? Also another good sweetener.
  • Vanilla Extract : Always keep this in the pantry. Always. I use it in nearly every single baking recipe. If I read someone else’s baking recipe and it doesn’t have it, I usually add it. If you have the money, and you want some quality food, splurge and and get the good shit.
  • Natural Nut Butters : Probably an addiction of mine. I always have natural almond and peanut butter. You can use cashew butter, or any others you like. Peanut butter in baked goods is a necessary combination for happiness.
  • Jams or Jellies : It’s great to have these on hand all the time, especially in the winter. If you eat seasonall, like me, you’ll be able to appreciate the orgasmic deliciousness of berries in the winter, even though they’ll be long gone or bitter as hell from the grocery store.
  • Nutella : If you’re a sane human being, you’ll already have this in your pantry.
  • Old Fashinoned and Quick Oates : Perfect for when you want to make any breakfast treats or even snacks. If you can’t see a reason to keep this in your pantry, just take a look at my recipes.
  • Goodies to Add : Chocolate chips, peanut butter bits, sprinkles, roasted nuts, or coconut flakes. Whatever floats your boat.

If you’re completely knew to baking or you’re a broke as hell college student, or whatever your situation, don’t fret. This stuff is not expensive. If you buy it all at once, it may seem like a lot. Remember though, the ingredients you buy will get you much more in quantity, and fucking deliciousness, than prepacked and already made baked goods.

One Comment Add yours

  1. m88cn says:

    It’s hard to find experienced people for this topic, but you seem like you know
    what you’re talking about! Thanks

    Like

Comment

