Citrus Cake

I’m surprised I even got photos of this cake; it was gone so quickly!

1464442450571

Ironically, this cake is perfect in the summer, but it reminds me of Christmas. Clementines work better as a substitute for oranges in my opinion. I’d like to post this now though, so everyone can enjoy a still great summer cake. If you don’t like citrus, this obviously isn’t your cup of tea. I recommend making this with less citrus zest. I’ve toned it down for my family and friends to a point that you really have to hate citrus to dislike this cake! I love citrus and anything sweet. If you’re the same, bake on.

The inspiration for this cake comes from my favorite Moroccan 1464627757179Orange Cake. I swear I will make it to Morocco just for that dessert. Traditionally, it’s made as a single cake. For this recipe, I have made both Bundt
and layer cakes. When making a Bundt cake, I use glaze on top that is absolutely fantastic. Below are photos of my layer cake, which has a whipped cream frosting that is delicious, but when I make this again I will use buttercream because the whipped frosting has trouble holding the food coloring.

Ingredients:

I use 2 oranges, 1 lemon, and 1 ruby red grapefruit for this recipe. Prepare the zest and juice before starting!

  • 3 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • ¼ cup honey
  • 1/3 cup sunflower oil
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup citrus juice (mainly orange and grapefruit + ½ lemon)
  • 2 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 ½ tablespoons fresh zest (2 oranges, ½ lemon, and the rest grapefruit)

1464442535850

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F
  2. In a large bowl, whisk eggs and sugar until fluffy, about 30 seconds. Add honey and continue mixing.
  3. Slowly add the sunflower oil to this mixture, ensuring the entirety of it is added.
  4. Grab a medium sized bowl to mix all the fry ingredients together. Make sure none of the ingredients clump together or else you’ll bite into a slice of cake and get a mouthful of salt or baking powder! Set aside close by.
  5. Measure the vanilla extract, mix it with the citrus juice and set aside nearby.
  6. What you’re going to do now is add the dry ingredients in segments, along with the citrus juice + vanilla mix. Take a portion of the dry ingredients, around 1/3, and add to the wet. Then, take a small amount of the citrus and vanilla mix, adding to the large bowl. You’re aiming to alternate additions until the last addition, which should be the citrus juice + vanilla. I like to add dry, then wet three times each, continually mixing.
  7. Once these are mixed in, fold in the zest.
  8. Grease your pans with butter (or spray, but that releases CFCs! So don’t use it unless you have to!). Add the mixture to the pan and place on middle shelf of the oven1464442295256
  9. If make a layer cake, with 9” pans, bake for 14- 16 minutes until ligh
    tly browned. Bundt cake? Around 40-45 minutes, depending on the depth of the pan.
  10. Allow to cool entirely before applying the glaze or frosting.

Glaze :

Mix 6 tablespoons powdered sugar with 1 teaspoon citrus zest and 2 teaspoons water. Use this on the Bundt version of the cake.

I didn’t like the whipped frosting recipe enough to post it. Look out for a buttercream frosting recipe in the future.

Comment

