Maximum Yogurt Deliciousness

I have trouble making decisions, about everything. Whether it was choosing my major or which carton of eggs (because they’re all so different right?). Sometimes, there are just too many options to choose from. I’m not complaining! I’d rather have variety than be limited, but choosing the right… anything? can be difficult.

1465000099846

If you shop at a grocery store, you’ve probably seen the wall or isle of yogurt options. Fruit in the bottom, fat-free, sugar-free, candy add ins, all types of Greek yogurt, and so it goes. I probably haven’t even covered half the choices. With all of these brands, types, and “healthy” claims, I used to be lost and confused on what the hell I should buy. “Greek yogurt is so good for you! With probiotics, antibiotics, holy water, golden flakes, it’s all great!” If you look at a standard container of flavored Greek yogurt though, the sugar content is comparable to a serving of ice cream. Fruit-in-the-bottom yogurt is even worse. Health claims scream from the labels, making empty promises a lot of the time.

I love what Michael Pollan said about labels with health claims in his book and documentary In Defense of Food.  “If you’re concerned about your health, you should probably avoid products that make health claims. Why? Because a health claim on a food product is a strong indication it’s not really food, and food is what you want to eat.” I live by this advice. When I grocery shop, I buy food without labels or with little to say if it has a label.

Doctor_shocked

I recommend following this advice with all of your food shopping, but especially yogurt. Buy plain and simple. Every time I shop for food, I buy a large container of plain, low-fat Greek yogurt. I don’t listen to the health claims; I just now it has added protein and I like the thickness of it. Plain Greek yogurt sounds bland as hell if you aren’t used to flavoring things on your own, but that’s what I’m here for! You can eat healthy and enjoy it too.

Okay, so first, buy the plain Greek yogurt (or regular yogurt. Just make sure it’s plain).

Decide how you want to eat it. Do you want to have yogurt for breakfast? Is it a snack? How about savory options? I have a few recipes for each.

Breakfast

  • Take some yoYogurt with cinnamon + honey + vanilla + blueberriesgurt and add honey + cinnamon + fresh fruit. Don’t add the fruit till you’re happy with the sweetness. I don’t want to tell you how much to add because I’m weird and sweetness isn’t a priority. Only add around 1/8 tsp cinnamon for each 1/3 cup yogurt. You can make this a day or two ahead.

 

 

 

  • Greek yogurt with maple syrup + toasted walnuts + ¼ teaspoon vanilla extract per 1/3 cup yogurt.
    • I love this on an autumn morning. The maple syrup may make it a bit thinner if you use a larger amount. I recommend having this with an apple or waffles, but don’t add the syrup to the waffles! You’ve already got it.
  • Yogurt + vanilla extract + almond extract + toasted almonds + fresh blueberries
    • Both extracts ¼ teaspoon per 1/3 cup yogurt
  • Add your favorite cereal (low in sugar I hope) to yogurt for a longer lasting full feeling

Sweet Snack

I usually just add a spoonful of each ingredient (besides extracts and spices) for a few spoonfuls of yogurt

Yogurt 2

  • Yogurt + natural peanut butter + jam
    • Add more jam than peanut butter.
  • Yogurt + natural peanut butter + honey + cinnamon + Nutella OR chocolate chips (unless you’re a rebel)
  • Yogurt + Nutella + peanut butter chips (this is enough sugar, I promise)
  • Yogurt + lemon juice + honey
  • Yogurt + jam + chocolate chips or toasted, crushed nuts
    • Any type of jam will do, but I love blueberry
  • Yogurt + pumpkin puree + cinnamon + toasted walnuts
  • Yogurt + orange juice + orange zest + vanilla extract
  • Yogurt + broiled strawberries + brown sugar

Savory

  • Dips for chips and veggies
    • Yogurt + toasted sunflower seeds + lemon juice + thyme
    • Yogurt + chopped green onion + minced garlic or garlic powder + salt + olive oil
  • Sandwich or pita spread
    • yogurt + fresh dill + lemon juice + salt + little bit of garlic

IF YOU WANT SPECIFIC RECIPES WITH AMOUNTS AND ALL THAT JAZZ, POST A COMMENT AND LET ME KNOW.

Other Uses

Greek yogurt can be used as a substitute for sour cream, which is less calories if you’re into that. I just like the way it tastes.

Probably works as a good calking agent if you leave it out in the sun

It can help you live to 100 if you rub it on your elbows each morning

It can turn you into a time lord for a split second if you close your eyes. You’d have to each five tubs of it though for this to occur.

Greek yogurt is a great hair gel. Wear it to all family get-togethers and especially on dates.

Comment

