Grapefruit Chicken Marinade

The inspiration for this recipe came to me when I was actually reading another marinade recipe online. In the instructions, whoever wrote it said to use any citrus juice you’d like. I don’t think he/she meant grapefruit! It was the only citrus I had at hand at the time, but the marinade turned out perfect.

1467164598123

I can’t find the inspirational recipe anywhere, but I’ve written my own grapefruit marinade that knocks any others out of the park! I love this recipe because it doesn’t use any sweeteners. Fresh grapefruit juice is enough because as you cook the chicken, the sugars in the juice caramelize for a slight sweet note. I make this ALL the time.

Depending on when you need to cook the chicken, you can make the marinade up to a day in advance. I like to marinate for a good 4-5 hours, even overnight sometimes. An hour is the minimum I’d say.

Ingredients:

1467164911017

  • 1/2 vidalia onion, diced
  • 1/3 cup grapefruit juice, freshly juiced
  • 2 tbls distilled white vinegar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil (or sunflower)
  • 2 cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1-3 tbls sriracha
  • 1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp black ground pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 3-4 chicken breasts

Instructions:

1467164809469

  1. Combine all ingredients in a bowl or plastic bag and stir. Allow to sit for 5- 10 minutes before adding the chicken.
  2. Tenderize the chicken, poking each side with a pair of forks. Place chicken in the marinade.
  3. Put the marinade with the chicken into the fridge for at least an hour, up to a day.
  4. Grill, saute, or bake the chicken after it’s finished marinating!

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Comment

