My Garden

Living in College Park was a constant reminder of what I missed at home; my garden. In the concrete stop between Baltimore and D.C, there was little room to grow anything unless it was at the school. I discovered, a bit too late, about the community garden plots I could have rented.

Now I’m home, so it doesn’t really matter. I can’t grow in the ground this year because we’re moving out of this house, but I have so many pots that it doesn’t even matter.

Anything I grow is grown without pesticides or toxins that hurt the ecosystem. I use recycled rainwater and kitchen water for my plants. If there’s any way to reduce waste, pollution, and my impact on the surrounding environment, I do it. Any plant matter that would be wasted is composted 🙂

So, basically it’s an organic potted garden across my front and back deck. It’s lovely and always worth my time. I believe a garden is patience at work, something we must all learn and grow to appreciate.
1466736453473

1466877828038

My favorite thing to grow, and eat, are tomatoes of all kinds. this year I’m growing sun gold, vine, and yellow goddess cherry tomatoes. Also, Roma tomatoes and I’m thinking about some better boys.

 

 

 

 

Love Dove farm is the vendor I got this tomato plant from. I usually don’t buy my plants; I grow them from seeds. I couldn’t resist though. They’re tomatoes are to die for. A worthy investment.

 

 

 

 

 

I made a trellis for my wax and green bean plants. I may be too excited about them. Nerding out for beans.

1467164735643

 

Garden

On the back porch, I stick to tomatoes and beans, where as up front, I have more delicate plants to tend to. Mixed salad greens, basil, and various herbs that are taking forever to sprout are sprawled on the front steps of this old house.

herbs

 

Every morning, it brings a smile to my face as I walk out the door to see the progress my seedlings have made. All the plants were started from a few seeds, a little hope, and a consistent want to help them grow. That’s really all you need to do to have a garden, besides read up a bit. A lot of what I have learned about gardening has come from reading books from the library and experimenting on my own. If you fail, it’s really no big deal! Try again, and try something new. Fix the problems.

garden 1

My first time growing any vegetables was with my Roma tomato plant. Each tomato ended up having a black bottom, caved in. Instead of letting it go on, I googled what was up. Turns out, my plant was suffering from calcium deficiency, a side effect of which was blossom end rot. I bought calcium chloride online to solve the problem. That’s what you have to do, in the garden and in life. Be a fixer.

basil

 

In a month, when I move into my new apartment, I’ll be on the verge of tears. Withdraw symptoms will be unpleasant for my roommates. We don’t have a balcony at the apartment complex, so no outdoor plants. I’m just going to try to live in the moment and enjoy my plants as much as I can right now.

Comment

